Saltgrass Steak House

sg

The Story

Saltgrass Steak House has been my bread and butter since I graduated high school. I have worked for the Landry’s company going on 3 and a half years. It taste so bitter to say that, however a mans gotta eat! I started at a Saltgrass in Houston off I-10 East and Federal road and have bounced around to many different locations and now find myself at Saltgrass San Marcos.  Waiting tables and bar tending in a higher end steak house has taught me unmeasurable amounts about society, diligence, integrity, and accountability. What many people do not know about waiting tables is that it can be the easiest and most difficult job in the world! The stress level is super high and the demand to perform is astronomical compared to other jobs. If you have NEVER waited tables you’re probably thinking “no way” but those students reading this who have waited tables know exactly what I’m talking about. People seem to throw all patients and appropriate behavior out the window when entering the restaurant.  Dealing with these clowns is to say the least a pain in the ass! I hate to vent but I am just going to throw it out there, severs get paid $2.13 an hour to wait tables. They literally depend on tips to survive. I should know because I have been doing it for far too long…  Severs also pay tip share which is a percentage of your total sales over all to the bartender,bus boys, and hostess etc. What people don’t know is that when they “stiff a server” ( as in leave absolutely no tip) the server in turn actually pays money out of their pocket to cover their expense of tip share. So not only did they not make in money, they payed to wait on a table. Imagine being at work trying to better your financial stability and some knuckle head comes in and leaves no tip. Seems unfair right? Welcome to the life of the server! Sorry to preach but I am off my soap box now. Saltgrass Steak House  can be some what pricey depending on what you get. Well I am here to tell you that there is a way to go to saltgrass and still be that “balla on a budget” you need to be! Pay attention because I’m about to school ya!

Happy Hour!

The Happy Hour is great! The appetizers are off the chain and the drinks are discounted appropriately. Compared to other bars in San Marcos, Saltgrass is still a little more expensive, however the quality of the food and drinks are second to none.  Saltgrass happy hour is a perfect place to take a date! Guys listen up, if you are looking for a quiet place to take your lady impress her by treating her to Saltgrass! The bar is never too busy and happy hour is served on the outside patio as well! With the view of the beautiful San Marcos River and mixing in great food and an awesome cocktail you are setting yourself up for success in taking your relations with this girl to the next level (if your picking up on what I am putting down). The servers are trained to make every Saltgrass experience a great one! You will be well taken care of and enjoy your over all experience! Here is a link to the Happy Hour menu!

Link

http://www.saltgrass.com/pdf/core-happy-hour-menu.pdf

The Down Low

The Down low is that I work the bar at Saltgrass Steak House every Thursday night! So if you read this blog and decide to come to happy hour while I’m working, The first round is on me! Also our happy hour menu has a few grey areas. They only have Tequila margaritas, beers, and wine to discount, however if yall decide to come see yours truly I can make Mexican Martini’s, CoronaRita’s,  Sangria’s, and Michilada’s, all for the same price as happy hour! (Benefits of working for the company entirely way too long).  12 ounce beer are $2.50 but if you wanted a 22 ounce I can ring you in double beers and only charge $5 verses the normal $6.50 you would pay. On tap we have Budlight, Millerlite, Dos XX’s, Blue Moon, Shiner Bock, and Sam Adams seasonal which is currently October Fest. To pay that price for any of those beers is unheard of in a fine dining restaurant! Also I can Make a CoronaRita for only $6 bucks compared to the normal $10.  Like I said we are still pricey, however ladies do love Saltgrass so gentlemen take notes!

sg bar #2

The Atmosphere

sg water fall

Like I said earlier, Saltgrass is located right on the San Marcos River and the patio is directly on top of the water fall. While sipping on a little mixed drink and enjoying the weather, The overall experience is breath taking. No other restaurant in San Marcos that I am aware of is located on the river! With a great Country western atmosphere, Southern music, awesome Happy Hour, and a bad ass bartender you are guaranteed a positive experience!

sg river

Closer

Saltgrass Happy Hour is some what of a secret. Hopefully with this blog people will start coming in and taking advantage of the great deals! Like I said If you come in and mention this blog to me I will buy your first round!

Thanks again everybody!

Cody Wilson

Leave a comment